Russell Named to Citizen Naismith Trophy Midseason Team

Photo Credit: Alan Hubbard
Photo Credit: Alan Hubbard

KINGSTON, R.I. - Rhode Island junior Fatts Russell was named to the Citizen Naismith Trophy 2020 Midseason Team, the Atlanta Tipoff Club announced Thursday morning.

Russell is one of 30 players nationally named to the team. The 10 semifinalists will be announced on March 5, and the finalists will be revealed on March 17.

Having a breakthrough season on both ends of the floor, Russell ranks second in the Atlantic 10 in both scoring (20.3 points per game) and steals (3.0 per game). Those figures rank 22nd and second in the country, respectively. He also leads the conference and is 15th nationally with 123 free throws made.

Russell has helped Rhode Island to an 18-6 record overall, and a 10-2 mark in conference play. The Rams are in sole possession of second place in the Atlantic 10 behind No. 6/6 Dayton and have positioned themselves for a strong chance to make the NCAA Championship field.

The winner of the 2020 Citizen Naismith Trophy for Men's Player of the Year will be announced on April 5 at the Naismith Awards Brunch in Atlanta.

Citizen Naismith Trophy
2020 Midseason Team
Precious Achiuwa - Memphis
Udoka Azubuike - Kansas
Kamar Baldwin Butler
Saddiq Bey - Villanova
Jared Butler - Baylor
Vernon Carey - Duke
Ayo Dosunmu - Illinois
Devon Dotson - Kansas
Anthony Edwards - Georgia
Malachi Flynn - San Diego State
Jordan Ford - St. Mary's
Luka Garza - Iowa
Markus Howard - Marquette
Mason Jones - Arkansas
Tre Jones - Duke
Nathan Knight - William & Mary
John Mooney - Notre Dame
Jordan Nwora - Louisville
Daniel Oturu - Minnesota
Filip Petrusev - Gonzaga
Myles Powell - Seton Hall
Payton Pritchard - Oregon
Nick Richards - Kentucky
Fatts Russell - Rhode Island
Jalen Smith - Maryland
Lamar Stevens - Penn State
Isaiah Stewart - Washington
Obi Toppin - Dayton
Kaleb Wesson - Ohio State
Cassius Winston - Michigan State